Virginia Tech® home

Distinguished Alumni of the Corps

Since 1872, the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets has produced graduates of exemplary character in service to the nation. We have long recognized and celebrated our alumni in various ways, and now we are formally establishing an annual award for Distinguished Alumni of the Corps.

The guiding principles for this award are found on the Pylons: Ut Prosim (That I May Serve), Brotherhood, Honor, Duty, Leadership, Loyalty, Service, and Sacrifice. Nominations for this award will serve as inspiring examples for our cadets.

We welcome your nominations for Distinguished Alumni of the Corps.

Nominees must have been enrolled in the Corps of Cadets for a minimum of two years (four semesters or six quarters). Nominees must be living.

The nomination package should include the following:

  1. Nomination form
  2. Letter of nomination (from nominator)
  3. Nominee’s current biography or vita 
  4. At least three letters of support
  5. List of any awards or achievements known
  6. Any other items that support the nomination

Nominations for the 2023 award are due by Dec. 1, 2022.

A committee made up of members of the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets Alumni Inc. board, a member of the commandant’s staff, and a member-at-large from the university will review nominations and select each year’s recipient. The honoree, along with family and friends, will be invited to a recognition reception and ceremony, generally held during the spring semester.

Nomination packages will be held for each individual for five years. If an individual is not selected for the award, her or her nomination package may be updated and renewed for consideration in a subsequent year. Nominators names will not be disclosed without their permission.


Nominations for the 2023 award are due by Dec. 1, 2022.

Our Honorees

2022: Kirk E. Spitzer ‘67

2021: Reed Schweickert Jr. '63 and Lt. Gen. Joseph R. Inge '69 

2020: Robert A. Archer '69 and Donald D. Sowder '59

2019: Richard T. Crowder '60 and Maj. Gen. Thomas "Tommy" Thompson '56

2018: David E. Lowe ‘63 and Gen. Thomas C. Richards ’56